Dragon's Tale

Just another female BJJ enthusiast

Just about that time!

This week has flown by! I can’t believe the tournament is tomorrow! Eek!

I trained Tuesday night and last night as well. Tuesday was a relatively average night of training. My girlfriend wasn’t able to stay for class so it was just me and all the guys (what’s new! :)). Rolling that night wasn’t quite as disheartening as Monday night. I felt a little better about it. After class I talked with my coach about the competition and how I am doing. He simply told me I’m doing well and that I’m thinking way too much about it. So the rest of this week I’ve really tried my best not to think too much about it and try to relax a bit. It has helped some, but I can’t deny that when thoughts of competing creep into the corners of my mind I don’t get nervous!

Last night was a good night of training. My girlfriend stayed for BJJ class and I had the opportunity to roll with her twice. Neither were in any way stellar rolls but I felt better about them. I worked hard on moving my hips and trying to regain guard when she had me in side control or mount. I didn’t tap and I did manage to get on top a few times. I can only hope that I can keep my head straight and remember all I need to tomorrow.

My husband told me last night that, right now, my top game is where it’s at. He said I have good pressure and once I have someone in side control or mount it’s difficult to do anything. I am trying to keep this in mind and use this to my advantage in my matches. I’m realizing that needing to get a take down is a reality but I don’t want to over pressure myself. If I don’t get it then I will just try to pull  guard and go for a sweep. All I can do is my best.

My division starts at 10:30am and so it will be over and done with early. I appreciate that. At least I don’t have to wait around all day with this anxiety and nervousness.

Also, a major shout out to all my family, friends, husband, coach, and fellow Pinnacle-MMA/Team KAOS team members…I really appreciate all of your kind words of encouragement. Thank you for all of your support and coming to the gym and training with me. I appreciate each and every one of you for pushing me, and sometimes squishing me ;), as necessary. Thank you also to those who read my blog and have left me encouraging words and tips on my blog and facebook page. It means a lot to me. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Just about that time!

  1. So how did it go? Asides from awesome, I mean!

Leave a comment